Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Discussions about development of VICIDIAL and astGUIclient

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Kumba » Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:54 pm

I'm building a companion product for ViciDial/ViciBox called ViciNOC. The goal of this is to provide an all-in-one solution for ViciDial monitoring, diagnostics, and call control. It will eventually integrate with ViciDial to self-populate server entries and other various things. It's built on the same platform as ViciBox so anyone familiar with installing and trouble shooting ViciBox will have a good idea on how to use it. If you aren't comfortable working with Open Source Software from the command line then this would not be for you. There is currently no install documentation and most of the packages are installed but need testing with real world scenarios.

The goal of ViciNOC is to provide 3 things:
1) Complete call routing control between ViciDial and Carriers
2) Resource and Network monitoring
3) Diagnostics for SIP related issues

It's built using the following software:
- OpenSuSE Leap v.42.1
- OpenSIPS v.2.2.2
- HOMER5 from GIT Master trunk
- SmokePing v.2.6.11
- Icinga2 v.2.6.1
- IcingaWeb2 v.2.4.1


As a complete offering, this will give you the ability to:
- Load balance inbound calls from multiple carriers to all dialers in a cluster
- Outbound call routing control including failover, load-balancing, LCR, etc
- Prevent CallerID updates from reaching your ViciDial servers and causing issues
- CDRs that are independent of ViciDial and accurate for billing purposes
- Full SIP message capture and diagnostics including some QoS metrics
- Server resource monitoring of all ViciDial servers and their pertinent services
- Network latency and jitter monitoring with graphed output
- Integration between ViciNOC and the various software pieces (To be completed)
- Centralized configuration of all these pieces (To be completed)


The roadmap is as follows in order or priority:
1) Verify that the base software and templates are working and manageable
2) Write integration programs so ViciNOC can pull configuration info from the ViciDial database
3) Create a web interface for controlling ViciNOC settings including integration programs
4) Expand web interface to include CDR reports and advanced call control features


What your role will be as part of this beta test:
- Provide technical feedback on flawed package installs
- Feedback on templates and what could be improved or changed
- Generate use-case scenario install documentation for a WIKI
- Possibly creating with and/or maintaining the integration pieces between ViciDial and ViciNOC


System requirements:
- Quad-Core 2.0Ghz CPU or better
- 8GB of RAM or better
- Directly attached to internal network of ViciDial servers
- SSD if you want to do SIP capture/diagnostics
- ViciBox v.7 or Port Mirror of dialer traffic and dedicated ethernet port for SIP capture/diagnostics

If you are interested in helping out please let me know.
Kumba
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Acidshock » Tue Feb 07, 2017 5:54 pm

I can deploy this in two maybe three different locations. Currently I just use a demo of VoIPMonitor when I need to do some capture but this is a great idea and would save a lot of headache. I would be more than happy to test it. Two of the locations will have 40 or more agents. Third is likely to have about the same I just need to see if I have the extra hardware at that location.

I am also familiar with icinga2. I currently use it to do monitoring.
VERSION: 2.12-493a | BUILD: 150703-2105 | Asterisk:1.4.39.2-vici & 1.4.44-vici & 1.8.32-vici | Vicibox Redux 3.1.15 & Vicibox 4.0.3 & Vicibox 6.03
Acidshock
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 3:19 pm

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby gequiros » Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:47 am

Hello guys

If you want to, i can put up a server UP in the air, you / us can install it, test it, try it, and i will give you full credentials, so you can debug it

I currently have VICIBOX 7.0.4, in a cluster, dedicated DB, WEB and 4 dialers

I can collaborate that way and as well help with some money as well, i am not overloaded with cash, just giving some back to you guys

Please consider my little help and if so, let me know... i will order server
Vicibox 7.0.4

VERSION: 2.14-585a / BUILD: 170114-1356 / No VoIP hardware

1 x DataBase ( 32gb Ram - 24 Cores - 1 SSD 240gb )
1 x Web ( 16gb Ram - 16 Cores - 1 TB SATA )
4 x Dialers ( 8gb Ram - 16 Cores - 1 SSD 120gb

www.Come2VoIP-USA.com
gequiros
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:22 am
Location: Costa Rica

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Kumba » Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:55 pm

You can download the current beta here: http://download.vicidial.com/iso/vicino ... 0.0.35.iso

How to install currently:
1) Run 'os-install' to install it, similar to ViciBox
2) After rebooting and the network is up, run 'vicinoc-setup'
3) Go to the IP in a browser and click on the links to the underlying software. Default logins are 'admin' and 'vicidial'

Some notes:
- Server will configure itself into GMT time-zone. This is required for HOMER to work properly
- Icinga configs are under /etc/icinga2
- Some Icinga check process' and an snmpd.conf file are under /srv/www/htdocs and can be downloaded with wget http://server.ip/file to the vicidial servers
- Captagent must be configured to capture data and send it into homer. You'll either need to install CaptAgent on vicibox7 or use a port-mirror with captagent on the vicinoc server
- Smokeping config is under /etc/smokeping and is pretty self-explanatory

Icinga2 documentation: https://docs.icinga.com/icinga2/latest/ ... cinga2/toc

HOMER5 documentation: https://github.com/sipcapture/homer/wiki

CaptAgent6 pretty much lacks useful documentation, but you'll want to look in /etc/captagent/socket_pcap.xml for the interface to listen to. This needs to be installed on vicibox7 and ran or on the ViciNOC server with a port mirror of your internet traffic uplink.

SmokePing documentation: http://oss.oetiker.ch/smokeping/doc/index.en.html

Let me know what you find.
Kumba
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Kumba » Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:58 pm

Ohh, and I've already had to rework a couple packages, so make sure you run updates after installing.
Kumba
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Kumba » Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:41 am

phpMyAdmin is installed, so make sure you secure it properly. It's config file is under /etc/apache2/conf.d/phpmyadmin.conf

By default I recommend restricting it to only localhost and RFC1918 subnets. I've already added this into the build config for the next beta release, but you can do that by running this:

sed -i 's+ AllowOverride None+ AllowOverride None\n Require ip 127.0.0.1 192.168.0.0/16 10.0.0.0/8 172.16.0.0/20+' /etc/apache2/conf.d/phpMyAdmin.conf

then restarting apache
Kumba
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Vince-0 » Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:05 am

Nice work Kumba.
My CaptAgent6 install notes for Vicibox 7 (OpenSuse).

I found some requirement packages needing and didn't test these instructions thoroughly yet.
I followed instructions from here: https://github.com/sipcapture/captagent/wiki/Installation

Build essentials:
Code: Select all
zypper install -t pattern devel_basis

Some requirements packages I didn't feel like tracking:
Code: Select all
zypper install libexpat* libpcap* libjson* libuv*

Git clone, build, configure,make install
Code: Select all
cd /usr/src/
git clone https://github.com/sipcapture/captagent.git captagent
cd captagent
./build.sh
./confgure
make && make install

Configs here:
/usr/local/captagent/etc/

Change capture-host to ViciNOC/HOMER server IP, hep or json I'm not sure so I did both:
/usr/local/captagent/etc/captagent/transport_json.xml
/usr/local/captagent/etc/captagent/transport_hep.xml

No init script for OpenSuse so just run binary
./usr/local/captagent/sbin/captagent (-d for daemon)

Not sure what's next. I don't see any data from the capture node to HOMER server but will investigate somehow.
Vince-0
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:27 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Kumba » Sun Feb 12, 2017 11:41 am

My apologies. I forgot to mention that CaptAgent6 is build on OBS for ViciBox7. You should be able to do a zypper ref and then a zypper in captagent.

The configs will be in /etc/captagent

That's good info though for anyone wanting to install it on other platforms though. :)

Home is one of those things where it somewhat lacks documentation and is learned trial by fire. But you will need to go into the HOMER web interface and add a 'Admin Alias' for each server that will be running the captagent. The ViciNOC server is already set-up though. The capture ID of 'homer01' will remain the same but you should give the admin alias a useful name as well as the IP address the homer agent is capturing info for.

After that edit the socket_pcap.xml on the server to make sure it's capturing the right interfact (defaults to eth0) and then edit the transport_hep.xml to make sure it's got the right IP address and capture ID for your homer server. Also make sure the 'enable="true"' in transport_hep.xml so it will enable itself.
Kumba
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Vince-0 » Mon Feb 13, 2017 5:04 am

captagent from repo is much easier, thanks Kumba.

I don't get any data in Homer, front-end home page shows "No Data Available" and empty DB tables.
I wonder if it has to do with GMT set on Homer but GMT+2 on Vicidial.

captagent service is running Active: active (running).
I ran homer rotate job and it created tables for a couple of days in the future.

I configured Admin Alias for Vici standalone server
ID: 23 Alias: VirtualBoxVici Gid: 10 IP: 10.10.10.111 Port: 9061 CaptureID: homer01 Status: 1 Created: 2017-02-13 08:25:08

socket_pcap.xml is on the correct interface, there's only one.
trasport_hep.xml looks correct, not sure about the capture-password being set on the Homer server?
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<document type="captagent_module/xml">
    <module name="transport_hep" description="HEP Protocol" serial="2014010402">
        <profile name="hepsocket" description="Transport HEP" enable="true" serial="2014010402">
            <settings>
                <param name="version" value="3"/>
                <param name="capture-host" value="10.10.10.109"/>
                <param name="capture-port" value="9061"/>
                <param name="capture-proto" value="udp"/>
                <param name="capture-id" value="homer01"/>
                <param name="capture-password" value="myhep"/>
                <param name="payload-compression" value="false"/>
            </settings>
        </profile>
    </module>
</document>


Not sure how to proceed troubleshooting this one but I'll get there sometime.
Vince-0
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:27 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Kumba » Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:36 am

Homer is listening on 9063 not 9061. I'll look at modifying the default XML files for captagent so it's more plug-n-play.

Try changing captagent to sent to port 9063 and see if that helps.

GMT is a requirement on HOMER since it's schema partitioning is set up on GMT/UTC. The good news is it translates the detected timezone from the browser to localize the search results. So you don't need to do any time translations in your head.

Vince-0 wrote:captagent from repo is much easier, thanks Kumba.

I don't get any data in Homer, front-end home page shows "No Data Available" and empty DB tables.
I wonder if it has to do with GMT set on Homer but GMT+2 on Vicidial.

captagent service is running Active: active (running).
I ran homer rotate job and it created tables for a couple of days in the future.

I configured Admin Alias for Vici standalone server
ID: 23 Alias: VirtualBoxVici Gid: 10 IP: 10.10.10.111 Port: 9061 CaptureID: homer01 Status: 1 Created: 2017-02-13 08:25:08

socket_pcap.xml is on the correct interface, there's only one.
trasport_hep.xml looks correct, not sure about the capture-password being set on the Homer server?
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<document type="captagent_module/xml">
    <module name="transport_hep" description="HEP Protocol" serial="2014010402">
        <profile name="hepsocket" description="Transport HEP" enable="true" serial="2014010402">
            <settings>
                <param name="version" value="3"/>
                <param name="capture-host" value="10.10.10.109"/>
                <param name="capture-port" value="9061"/>
                <param name="capture-proto" value="udp"/>
                <param name="capture-id" value="homer01"/>
                <param name="capture-password" value="myhep"/>
                <param name="payload-compression" value="false"/>
            </settings>
        </profile>
    </module>
</document>


Not sure how to proceed troubleshooting this one but I'll get there sometime.
Kumba
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Kumba » Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:07 pm

Did that fix your homer issue?

I've modified transport_hep.xml so have ID of 'homer01' and port '9063' which makes it plug and play with the local homer config.
Kumba
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Vince-0 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 3:30 am

No fix,

I changed transport_hep to 9063 on the dialer captagent and Homer admin alias, restarted captagent + Homer but no data available in Homer.

I can see Homer listening on 9063 udp though, nothing in the tables even after rotate.
I tried turning off the firewall on both servers,
I tried this in virtual machines on my laptop with a manual dial call.

Perhaps I should try again from the beginning.
Vince-0
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:27 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Kumba » Fri Feb 17, 2017 5:39 pm

What does your socket_pcap.xml file look like?
Kumba
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Kumba » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:45 pm

Threw up a little splash page for ViciNOC. http://www.vicinoc.com/

Got the web GUI framework done just a matter of making the forms to allow call control. AKA the hard part :)
Kumba
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 11:44 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby Vince-0 » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:57 am

Kumba!

Apologies for the massive delay, here's my socket_pcap.xml from last time.
I will try this all again from scratch soon.
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<document type="captagent_module/xml">
    <module name="socket_pcap" description="HEP Socket" serial="2014010402">
   <profile name="socketspcap_sip" description="HEP Socket" enable="true" serial="2014010402">
       <settings>
      <param name="dev" value="eth0"/>
      <param name="promisc" value="true"/>
      <param name="reasm" value="false"/>
      <param name="tcpdefrag" value="false"/>
      <param name="capture-plan" value="sip_capture_plan.cfg"/>
      <param name="filter">
          <value>portrange 5060-5091</value>
      </param>
       </settings>
   </profile>
   <profile name="socketspcap_rtcp" description="RTCP Socket" enable="false" serial="2014010402">
       <settings>
      <param name="dev" value="eth0"/>
      <param name="promisc" value="true"/>
      <param name="reasm" value="false"/>
      <!-- size in MB -->
      <param name="ring-buffer" value="20"/>
      <!-- for rtp && rtcp < 250 -->
      <param name="snap-len" value="256"/>
      <param name="capture-filter" value="rtcp"/>
      <param name="capture-plan" value="rtcp_capture_plan.cfg"/>
      <param name="filter">
          <value>portrange 5060-50000 and len >=50 </value>
      </param>
       </settings>
   </profile>
    </module>
</document>
Vince-0
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:27 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Looking for Beta testers for ViciNOC

Postby callcrazy » Tue Jun 13, 2017 1:47 pm

Finished install and about to start configuring.

Saw the cannot read license file after typing os-install. Please put license.tar.gz file into root of live media when building image.
Vicibox 6.0.4 from .iso | VERSION: 2.12-538a BUILD: 160122-1401 | Asterisk 1.8.32.3-vici | 1xDB, 2xWeb, 7xPBX | Amfeltec Timers | Sangoma/Lyra AMD | Dell Hardware
callcrazy
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 11:30 am
Location: MI


Return to Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests