Manual dial vs external_dial API

All installation and configuration problems and questions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

Manual dial vs external_dial API

Postby vicinewman » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:01 pm

Hi,

What is the main difference between "Manual dial" (from agent's screen) and "external_dial" API function ?

Do they make the same ?

Why if using "Manual dial" the status "you are paused" is not changed during the call and right after?
In contrary - when use "external_dial" it looks like it goes to from "pause" to "active" as we can do nothing from API when a call is placed and until press "Hangup customer" on the agent's screen.

Can we somehow emulate "Manual dial"'s behavior using the API with external_dial?

Thanks!
vicinewman
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 1:33 pm

Re: Manual dial vs external_dial API

Postby williamconley » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:57 pm

1) Welcome to the Party! 8-)

2) As you are obviously new here, I have some suggestions to help us all help you:

When you post, please post your entire configuration including (but not limited to) your installation method (7.X.X?) and vicidial version with build (VERSION: 2.X-XXXx ... BUILD: #####-####).

This IS a requirement for posting along with reading the stickies (at the top of each forum) and the manager's manual (available on EFLO.net, both free and paid versions)

You should also post: Asterisk version, telephony hardware (model number is helpful here), cluster information if you have one, and whether any other software is installed in the box. If your installation method is "manual/from scratch" you must post your operating system with version (and the .iso version from which you installed your original operating system) plus a link to the installation instructions you used. If your installation is "Hosted" list the site name of the host.

If this is a "Cloud" or "Virtual" server, please note the technology involved along with the version of that techology (ie: VMware Server Version 2.0.2). If it is not, merely stating the Motherboard model # and CPU would be helpful.

Similar to This:

Vicibox X.X from .iso | Vicidial X.X.X-XXX Build XXXXXX-XXXX | Asterisk X.X.X | Single Server | No Digium/Sangoma Hardware | No Extra Software After Installation | Intel DG35EC | Core2Quad Q6600

3) There are options for the external dial function in that will allow pausing if I recall correctly. If your version doesn't have it, there should also be an option to pause the agent specifically. Note that this is specific to each version of Vicidial as the API has evolved over the years so your lack of Vicidial version prevents deeper help. You will probably figure it out once you check ALL the options for your version of the API (and/or upgrade if you want more options ...?)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 17577
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests