New to Vicidial

All installation and configuration problems and questions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

New to Vicidial

Postby hansg » Thu May 26, 2016 7:33 pm

Hi all,

I am pretty new to the vicidial scene.

I am wanting to install vicidial on a cloud server so that it is accessible wherever I need it. What is the best way to do this as I do not have the ability to use an ISO.

Is the only way to accomplish this, to do a scratch install?

Let me know if you need more information.

Thanks
Dual Core - 4GB DDR3 - 80GB SSD
Vicibox 9
VERSION: 2.14-751a
BUILD: 200425-0949
SSL Installed
hansg

Re: New to Vicidial

Postby williamconley » Thu May 26, 2016 10:19 pm

1) Cloud vs non-cloud does not change where it's accessible. A properly installed Vicidial server can be accessed from anywhere regardless of where it is.

2) Cloud is a vague term that can mean "not in my office" or "pooled application resources" or "virtual server in a colocation facility". So Let's be clear here: Virtual Vicidial is ONLY viable for testing or for a single agent. Vicidial is not a "cloud app". In fact, it's not an "app" at all, it's a rather large group of collected scripts and configurations that link several applications to form a Call Center Dialer Suite. As such, it requires a dedicated server in which to run.

3) GoAutoDial.com has an installation method that can be used with a Stock CentOS (older version, of course) whereas it is possible to use OpenSuSE or SuSE Enterprise (Or Ubuntu, or "technically" any distro of Linux) to perform a Manual/Scratch installation. I don't recommend any of these of course, certainly not for your first installation!