Page 1 of 1

External Transfer Timeout Setting

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:22 pm
by Stinger554
Hello I am attempting to locate where I can find this setting and have been unable to find it. Can someone point my to where this setting is? Thanks.

VERSION: 2.10-451a
BUILD: 140902-0816
Asterisk Version: 1.8.32.2-vici

Re: External Transfer Timeout Setting

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:37 am
by blackbird2306
When you are talking about ratio or adapt dial method, then there is a campaign setting:
Dial Timeout -If defined, calls that would normally hang up after the timeout defined in extensions.conf would instead timeout at this amount of seconds if it is less than the extensions.conf timeout. This allows for quickly changing dial timeouts from server to server and limiting the effects to a single campaign. If you are having a lot of Answering Machine or Voicemail calls you may want to try changing this value to between 21-26 and see if results improve.


for manual dialing there is also:
Manual Dial Timeout


But for e.g. "Blind Transfer" you'll have to define a timout directly in dialplan DIAL command like below:

for 60 seconds:
exten => _(DESIRED EXTEN),2,Dial(${TESTSIPTRUNK}/${EXTEN:2},60,To)

Re: External Transfer Timeout Setting

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:36 am
by Stinger554
blackbird2306 wrote:
But for e.g. "Blind Transfer" you'll have to define a timout directly in dialplan DIAL command like below:

for 60 seconds:
exten => _(DESIRED EXTEN),2,Dial(${TESTSIPTRUNK}/${EXTEN:2},60,To)


Sorry for extremely delayed response.

For the dialplan is the DESIRED EXTEN the number I would be transferring to?

So I would have to include that exten statement for any number I would want to transfer to?

Re: External Transfer Timeout Setting

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:49 am
by williamconley
For the dialplan is the DESIRED EXTEN the number I would be transferring to?

So I would have to include that exten statement for any number I would want to transfer to?


If you wanted to have it "per number dialed", yes. Otherwise he's just talking about the carrier's dialplan entry. Each one has a ",Dial(" line.

You could create a whole new dialplan pattern (using the Ns and Xs) which would apply to all extensions matching that pattern and with a unique Dial Prefix so that you could put the Prefix in the 3-way-call dial prefix and it would then apply to all 3-way-calls so configured.

For instance (but with YOUR carrier [context] or ${GLOBALS_STRING} instead of the actual dial content here:
Code: Select all
exten =>_31NXXNXXXXXX,1,AGI(agi://127.0.0.1:4577/call_log)
exten =>_31NXXNXXXXXX,n,Dial(${GLOBALSTRING}/${EXTEN:1},60,tTor)
exten =>_31NXXNXXXXXX,n,Hangup


Then put 3 in the prefix field.

Re: External Transfer Timeout Setting

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:22 pm
by Stinger554
williamconley wrote:
For the dialplan is the DESIRED EXTEN the number I would be transferring to?

So I would have to include that exten statement for any number I would want to transfer to?


If you wanted to have it "per number dialed", yes. Otherwise he's just talking about the carrier's dialplan entry. Each one has a ",Dial(" line.

You could create a whole new dialplan pattern (using the Ns and Xs) which would apply to all extensions matching that pattern and with a unique Dial Prefix so that you could put the Prefix in the 3-way-call dial prefix and it would then apply to all 3-way-calls so configured.

For instance (but with YOUR carrier [context] or ${GLOBALS_STRING} instead of the actual dial content here:
Code: Select all
exten =>_31NXXNXXXXXX,1,AGI(agi://127.0.0.1:4577/call_log)
exten =>_31NXXNXXXXXX,n,Dial(${GLOBALSTRING}/${EXTEN:1},60,tTor)
exten =>_31NXXNXXXXXX,n,Hangup


Then put 3 in the prefix field.


So this should work to do that timeout? exten => _91NXXNXXXXXX,2,Dial(SIP/xcast-outbound/${EXTEN:2},60,tTor)

and if I'm running a cluster I would do this for every separate carrier that we have?

Also thanks I'm not really all that familiar with this stuff :D