multiple servers - conferences and vicidial_conferences?

All installation and configuration problems and questions

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

multiple servers - conferences and vicidial_conferences?

Postby smt8d1 » Tue Sep 12, 2006 5:31 pm

I am attempting to do load balancing with four servers:

Server 1: DB Server (192.168.1.2)
Server 2: Web Server (192.168.1.5)
Server 3: Asterisk Server (192.168.1.7)
Server 4: Asterisk Server (192.168.1.8)

I followed the LOAD_BALANCING.TXT file, but I noticed that there was no mention of how the conferences and vicidial_conferences tables are setup. In the scratch install you insert records along with the Asterisk server's IP address. Should I doing another set of inserts for the second Asterisk server's IP address?

insert into conferences values('8600011','192.168.1.7','');
insert into conferences values('8600012','192.168.1.7','');
....

insert into conferences values('8600011','192.168.1.8','');
insert into conferences values('8600012','192.168.1.8','');
...

insert into vicidial_conferences values('8600051','192.168.1.7','');
insert into vicidial_conferences values('8600052','192.168.1.7','');
...

insert into vicidial_conferences values('8600051','192.168.1.8','');
insert into vicidial_conferences values('8600052','192.168.1.8','');
...

If so, are there any other tables that need to be modified?

Thank you,
Sean
smt8d1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:26 pm

Postby enjay » Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:40 pm

You dont want to have the same conferences in the database with the same IP's

basically what I did was create conferences for:

8600051 - 8600100 on Asterisk Server 1

8600101 - 8600150 on Asterisk Server 2

So in essence:

insert into vicidial_conferences values('8600051','192.168.1.7','');
insert into vicidial_conferences values('8600052','192.168.1.7','');
all the way up to 8600100
...

insert into vicidial_conferences values('8600101','192.168.1.8','');
insert into vicidial_conferences values('8600102','192.168.1.8','');
all the way up to 8600150

Hope this helps.

-enjay
enjay
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:40 pm
Location: Utah

Postby enjay » Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:43 pm

Ohh FYI the meetme.conf will have the similar configuration..


-enjay
enjay
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:40 pm
Location: Utah

Thank you

Postby smt8d1 » Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:46 pm

Thank you for clarifying that. I ended up setting the following ranges for my asterisk servers:

Server 3
----------
DB: conferences: 86011 - 8600029 192.168.1.7
DB: vicidial_conferences: 8600051 - 8600075 192.168.1.7
meetme.conf: 8600011 - 8600029 & 8600051 - 8600075

extensions.conf:
8600011 - 8600029
8600051 - 8600075
78600051 - 78600075
68600051 - 68600075


Server 4
----------
DB: conferences: 86031 - 8600049 192.168.1.8
DB: vicidial_conferences: 8600076 - 8600100 192.168.1.8
meetme.conf: 8600031 - 8600049 & 8600076 - 8600100

extensions.conf:
8600031 - 8600049
8600076 - 8600100
78600076 - 78600100
68600076 - 68600100

I hope I got everything! Does this configuration still allow calls to be forwarded between the servers for load balancing? I am still unclear how the load balancing script works.
smt8d1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:26 pm

Postby enjay » Tue Sep 12, 2006 7:51 pm

your extensions.conf will have to have the proper strings in the config in order to utilize lines originating on each server

for instance

Web Server 1
1 T1

Web Server 2
2 T1's

When web server 1 runs out of lines you will need a statement in extensions.conf to send calls via web server 2 i.e.

exten => _NXXXXXX,1,Dial(Zap/g0/{$EXTEN}||o)
exten => _NXXXXXX,2,Dial(IAX2/webserver01@webserver02/{EXTEN}||o)

here you see it will utilize its local zap channels once those fill up it will fail over to the second server to utilize lines there..

NOTE: my exten line may be off alittle im going off the top of my head without reference.

Hope this clarifies.

-enjay
enjay
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:40 pm
Location: Utah

Postby mflorell » Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:02 pm

You actually CAN have the same sessionIDs in the vicidial_conferences and conferences tables if they are on different server_ip. We have 8 servers on one network all with the same set of vicidial_conferences sessionIDs(8600051-8600100) for each server_ip.

It is not a conflict to have them be the same as long as they are assigned to a different server.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18335
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Postby Op3r » Wed Sep 13, 2006 10:27 am

But how about the call monitoring? how can you get around that?
Get paid for US outbound Toll Free calls. PM me.
Op3r
 
Posts: 1424
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Manila

Postby mflorell » Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:46 am

Since there are already IAX trunks between all servers just add two digits to the number you dial to denote the server for monitoring extens in the dialplan:

; monitoring host server (for consistency)
exten => _0168600XXX,1,Goto(default,${EXTEN:2},1)
; remote load balanced servers
exten => _0268600XXX,1,Dial(${TRUNKIAX2}/${EXTEN:2},55,o)
exten => _0368600XXX,1,Dial(${TRUNKIAX3}/${EXTEN:2},55,o)

That's how we do it anyway.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 18335
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 94 guests