Can Viciphone Be Built into Vicidial To Work Out of the Box?

Discussions about new features or changes in existing features

Moderators: gerski, enjay, williamconley, Op3r, Staydog, gardo, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba, Michael_N

Can Viciphone Be Built into Vicidial To Work Out of the Box?

Postby thephaseusa » Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:15 pm

Version: 2.14b0.5
SVN Version: 2872
DB Schema Version: 1527
ViciBox v.7.0.4| Asterisk 11.25.1-vici |
4 Box Cluster of 1 Database, 1 Asterisk, 1 Web, & 1 Archive Server.
Fundraising Call Center

I’m looking forward to trying viciphone. And I’m wondering, with ssl certificates required can it be built into vicidial and work out of the box, or will users always have to configure https themselves separate from Vicidial?

Keep up the great work you do for us adding features! Vicidial rocks!

John M
thephaseusa
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 2:23 pm

Re: Can Viciphone Be Built into Vicidial To Work Out of the

Postby mflorell » Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:14 pm

Since WebRTC requires real fully-qualified-domain-names with valid SSL certs, ViciPhone will never be able to be ready-to-go out-of-the-box.
mflorell
Site Admin
 
Posts: 17086
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Can Viciphone Be Built into Vicidial To Work Out of the

Postby williamconley » Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:54 pm

mflorell wrote:Since WebRTC requires real fully-qualified-domain-names with valid SSL certs, ViciPhone will never be able to be ready-to-go out-of-the-box.

Well. Not for free. We could do it and set it up to auto-grab a domain from our DNS and auto-grab an SSL cert, but obviously that would incur a fee because it would be our SSL cert.

That being said: IF you were to require a valid domain name to "initiate SSL", it could technically be done for free.

I might even be tempted to build that in the near future. Now you mention it. 8-)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 17732
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Can Viciphone Be Built into Vicidial To Work Out of the

Postby Arffeh » Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:12 pm

Perhaps a Helper Script could be bundled one day:

- Ask for FQDN
- Sanity check FQDN DNS record exists
- Clone github repo
- use LetsEncrypt with an apache vhost on previously given FQDN to get a cert
- Install certs in all appropriate places / flip on https where needed
- Prompt to set up LetsEncrypt cron job to keep cert up-to-date
- install viciphone in all appropriate places
- Check for presence of asterisk 13
- Do the steps at https://viciphone.com/?page_id=351
- Prompt to set up viciphone in database entries for vicidial use

It would probably remove some of the tedium of setting viciphone up. So if someone at least qualifies on minimum requirements, someone could run the above and be up and running.
Arffeh
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:53 pm

Re: Can Viciphone Be Built into Vicidial To Work Out of the

Postby williamconley » Wed Oct 10, 2018 9:52 pm

Arffeh wrote:Perhaps a Helper Script could be bundled one day:

- Ask for FQDN
- Sanity check FQDN DNS record exists
- Clone github repo
- use LetsEncrypt with an apache vhost on previously given FQDN to get a cert
- Install certs in all appropriate places / flip on https where needed
- Prompt to set up LetsEncrypt cron job to keep cert up-to-date
- install viciphone in all appropriate places
- Check for presence of asterisk 13
- Do the steps at https://viciphone.com/?page_id=351
- Prompt to set up viciphone in database entries for vicidial use

It would probably remove some of the tedium of setting viciphone up. So if someone at least qualifies on minimum requirements, someone could run the above and be up and running.

Have you looked at Vicibox 8.1.2?
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 17732
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Can Viciphone Be Built into Vicidial To Work Out of the

Postby Arffeh » Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:50 pm

Oh wow. I missed that.
Thats a huuuuge update. Cheers man.
Arffeh
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:53 pm

Re: Can Viciphone Be Built into Vicidial To Work Out of the

Postby thephaseusa » Mon Oct 22, 2018 5:02 pm

Well the vicibox version finally came out, and i installed 8.1.2 on 3 boxes of my cluster already. VICIphone didn’t work right out of the box, but you know what, VICIdial doesn’t work right out of the box either)) after installing it you have to add a carrier, create campaigns, create users and phones, etc. etc. But let me tell you, they made it really really simple to get viciphone working with this new version of vicibox.

Create a template for viciphone. Set your phone to webphone, choose the template for it. Set the web socket address in server settings. Run vicibox-certbot to get your ssl working. The webphone address is already by default set to the viciphone address of vicidial (or download viciphone to your server and use your own address here).

Yes you need to look at the instructions (on this site or at viciphone.com) and it will take a few minutes. But i was really shocked how little time it took.
thephaseusa
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 2:23 pm


Return to Features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron