Asterisk is running, but no CLI...

Support forum for the ViciBox ISO Server Install and ISO LiveCD Demo

Moderators: enjay, williamconley, Staydog, mflorell, MJCoate, mcargile, Kumba

Asterisk is running, but no CLI...

Postby paok1926 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:36 pm

hello all,

i'm very new to Vicidial, just installed Vicibox, using ViciBox_v8_1.x86_64-8.1.2.iso
I created a carrier but when i try to see if its connected, i cannot connect to cli..

Code: Select all
ViciDial:~ # ps -aux | grep asterisk
root      1478  0.0  0.0  26072  2416 ?        Ss   Jan14   0:00 SCREEN -L -S asterisk
ViciDial:~ # asterisk -grvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv
Unable to connect to remote asterisk (does /run/asterisk/asterisk.ctl exist?)


any suggestions ?
Vicibox from ViciBox_v8_1.x86_64-8.1.2.iso | Asterisk 11.25.3-vici
VERSION: 2.14-695a - BUILD: 181116-1133
No Extra Software and Hardware | VM with 8 cores & 16Gb Ram
~8000-9000 calls per day
paok1926
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:45 pm

Re: Asterisk is running, but no CLI...

Postby williamconley » Mon Jan 14, 2019 5:52 pm

1) Welcome to the Party! 8-)

2) As you are obviously new here, I have some suggestions to help us all help you:

When you post, please post your entire configuration including (but not limited to) your installation method (7.X.X?) and vicidial version with build (VERSION: 2.X-XXXx ... BUILD: #####-####).

This IS a requirement for posting along with reading the stickies (at the top of each forum) and the manager's manual (available on EFLO.net, both free and paid versions)

You should also post: Asterisk version, telephony hardware (model number is helpful here), cluster information if you have one, and whether any other software is installed in the box. If your installation method is "manual/from scratch" you must post your operating system with version (and the .iso version from which you installed your original operating system) plus a link to the installation instructions you used. If your installation is "Hosted" list the site name of the host.

If this is a "Cloud" or "Virtual" server, please note the technology involved along with the version of that techology (ie: VMware Server Version 2.0.2). If it is not, merely stating the Motherboard model # and CPU would be helpful.

Similar to This:

Vicibox X.X from .iso | Vicidial X.X.X-XXX Build XXXXXX-XXXX | Asterisk X.X.X | Single Server | No Digium/Sangoma Hardware | No Extra Software After Installation | Intel DG35EC | Core2Quad Q6600

3) That is Not Asterisk Running: That is a SCREEN which happens to be NAMED asterisk. Inside that screen asterisk is supposed to be running, but that would have generated another line in your ps -aux if it were, indeed, running.

4) To check what is actually happening in that screen, like why asterisk is not running:
Code: Select all
screen -r asterisk

Once you are in this screen you should be presented with the Asterisk CLI if it's running. If it's not running, you may see what happened to kill asterisk.

Beware: To get out of this "screen" you must "ctrl-alt-a" then "ctrl-alt-d". Do not type "exit" or "control-c" to get out once you have started asterisk or you'll KILL asterisk! LOL

If asterisk has crashed, you can push the "up arrow" to see the previously executed command that started asterisk, and then hit "enter" to execute it again and see what happens. If it had previously crashed, you can leave this running and wait for it to crash again and perhaps find out why. This allows you to watch the entire startup process AND keep it running to view any crashes as they occur.

5) To get asterisk to automatically restart in case of a crash, without having to intervene: Admin->Servers (choose your server) and look for the option to Auto-Restart Asterisk and turn that sucker on. It won't stop asterisk from crashing, but at least it'll start back up again and you won't lose as much time while someone "calls a technician".

6) If asterisk IS crashing, it's often viable to disable unused/unnecessary modules (especially if you can find out which module causes the crash!)

Happy Hunting! 8-)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18830
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)

Re: Asterisk is running, but no CLI...

Postby paok1926 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:12 pm

thank you very much...
asterisk could not load the following modules and was crashing..

Code: Select all
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 354064 Sep 24 20:59 /usr/lib64/asterisk/modules/codec_opus.so
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 226864 Sep 24 20:59 /usr/lib64/asterisk/modules/format_ogg_opus.so


i added them with noload, at module.conf and asterisk started.. :)
Vicibox from ViciBox_v8_1.x86_64-8.1.2.iso | Asterisk 11.25.3-vici
VERSION: 2.14-695a - BUILD: 181116-1133
No Extra Software and Hardware | VM with 8 cores & 16Gb Ram
~8000-9000 calls per day
paok1926
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:45 pm

Re: Asterisk is running, but no CLI...

Postby williamconley » Mon Jan 14, 2019 6:25 pm

Excellent Postback! 8-)
Vicidial Installation and Repair, plus Hosting and Colocation
SugarCRM integration - Customization and Add-ons - We Bring It All Together.
http://www.PoundTeam.com # 352-269-0000 # +44 (203) 769-2294 # +506 4001-8914
williamconley
 
Posts: 18830
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Davenport, FL (By Disney!)


Return to ViciBox Server Install and Demo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests